AP wins 4 Edward R. Murrow Awards for online and radio journalism

June 12, 2012
Email Print Text
The Associated Press is proud to be honored with four of the 2012 Edward R. Murrow Awards, announced today by the Radio Television Digital News Association. 

AP has won for Overall Excellence -- Online News Operation – National. This is only the second year that RTNDA has offered this recognition and the second year AP has won the category. View the AP videos.

Another award to AP was in the category of Video Investigative Reporting, for “NYPD Intelligence,” reflecting the efforts of AP journalists Matt Apuzzo, Adam Goldman, Eileen Sullivan, Chris Hawley, David R. Martin, Ted Shaffrey and Luke Sheridan in reporting on the New York Police Department’s post-9/11 surveillance in the city and surrounding areas.

In Video Sports Reporting, John Mone won for his profile of Olympic skeet shooter Kim Rhode.

AP Radio was singled out for Best Newscast - Network Audio for Jon Belmont’s newscast “Death of bin Laden.”

“We're very proud of the collaborative efforts by the AP journalists who worked so hard to produce these outstanding reports,” said Kevin Roach, AP vice president and director of U.S. Broadcast News. “They are among the best in our business.”  

About The AP
The Associated Press is the essential global news network, delivering fast, unbiased news from every corner of the world to all media platforms and formats. Founded in 1846, AP today is the most trusted source of independent news and information. On any given day, more than half the world's population sees news from AP. On the Web: www.ap.org.

For further information:
Paul Colford
Director of AP Media Relations

© 2013 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. Terms and conditions apply. See AP.org for details.
All contents © copyright 2016 Associated Press. All rights reserved.