The Associated Press wins 8 Edward R. Murrow Awards for online news

June 14, 2011
Email Print Text

The Associated Press won a total of eight honors in the 2011 National Edward R. Murrow Awards announced today by the Radio Television Digital News Association, including for overall excellence. AP’s coverage of three of the biggest stories of last year – the Gulf oil spill, the Haiti earthquake and the Chile mine rescue – were cited.


In 2010, AP won a total of seven radio and video awards in the competition, including a sweep of the online news video category. This year, AP won 8 of the 11 categories in which it was eligible to compete.


AP’s 2011 winning entries, which can be viewed, are for:

-- Overall Excellence

-- Use of Video - Chile mine rescue (Nicole Grether)

-- Breaking News Coverage- Haiti Earthquake (team)

-- Continuing Coverage - Gulf Oil spill (team)

-- Investigative Reporting - J1 Visas (team)

-- Hard News - Gulf Oil Spill Dive (Rich Matthews)

-- Sports - USA vs. England World Cup (John Mone)

-- Writing - Lee Powell

View the RTDNA’s full list of the national awards at


About The AP
The Associated Press is the essential global news network, delivering fast, unbiased news from every corner of the world to all media platforms and formats. Founded in 1846, AP today is the largest and most trusted source of independent news and information. On any given day, more than half the world’s population sees news from AP.


On the Net:


For more information, contact:

Jack Stokes
The Associated Press
Manager of Media Relations

© 2013 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. Terms and conditions apply. See for details.
All contents © copyright 2016 Associated Press. All rights reserved.