Funeral of AP video journalist Simone Camilli to be livestreamed

Aug. 14, 2014
Email Print Text
This photo taken in August 2014, shows Associated Press video journalist Simone Camilli on a balcony overlooking smoke from Israeli strikes in Gaza City. Camilli, 35, was killed in an ordnance explosion in the Gaza Strip, on Wednesday, Aug. 13, 2014, together with Palestinian translator Ali Shehda Abu Afash and three members of the Gaza police. Police said four other people were seriously injured, including AP photographer Hatem Moussa. (AP Photo/Lefteris Pitarakis)
The funeral of Associated Press video journalist Simone Camilli, in his Tuscan hometown of Pitigliano, may be viewed Friday via a livestream on AP.org starting 5:30 p.m. local time in Italy (11:30 a.m. ET / 1530 GMT).

Camilli and a freelance Palestinian translator, Ali Shehda Abu Afash, were killed Wednesday in Gaza when an unexploded missile believed to have been dropped in an Israeli airstrike blew up.

The funeral service is scheduled to begin 6 p.m. (12 p.m. ET / 1600 GMT), in the Cathedral of Saints Peter and Paul. It will be celebrated by the bishop of Pitigliano-Sovana-Orbetello, the Rev. Guglielmo Borghetti.

AP President and CEO Gary Pruitt and other AP staff will attend.

Live coverage will also be available to all AP Direct clients from 1530 GMT, as well as AP Video Hub clients.

The funeral of Abu Afash, a Gaza resident, was held Wednesday in keeping with Muslim tradition.

About AP
The Associated Press is the essential global news network, delivering fast, unbiased news from every corner of the world to all media platforms and formats. Founded in 1846, AP today is the most trusted source of independent news and information. On any given day, more than half the world's population sees news from AP. On the Web: www.ap.org.

Contact
Paul Colford
Director of Media Relations
The Associated Press
212-621-1895
pcolford@ap.org

Erin Madigan White
Senior Media Relations Manager
The Associated Press
212.621.7005
emadigan@ap.org


© 2014 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. Terms and conditions apply. See AP.org for details.
All contents © copyright 2014 Associated Press. All rights reserved.